This website uses cookies

We use cookies to personalise content and to analyse our visitor traffic. Cookies are small files stored in your browser and are used by most websites to help personalise and enhance your web experience. By continuing to use our website you are agreeing to our use of these cookies.

HMS Ark Royal Association

About the HMS Ark Royal Association

Following suggestions by one or two Facebook users that there should be an Ark Royal Association, a dedicated Facebook group was set up in June 2017 to assess interest. By August that group had nearly 400 members. From that group an Interim Setup Committee was formed with the aim of setting up the necessary framework to start recruiting members to the Association, ready to hold a General Meeting when a proper election of Association officials could take place. The Association's first Annual General Meeting was held on the 9th June 2018 in HMS Ark Royal's adopted city, Leeds.

In June 2019, the HMS Ark Royal Association elected Rear Admiral Terry Loughran CB as its first Association President.

HMS Ark Royal Association Officials


Association President - Rear Admiral Terry Loughran CB (Ark Royal 1970-71, 1993-94)
Association Chairman - George Bone MBE (Ark Royal 2000-03)
Association Secretary - Grant 'Nick' Nicholson (Ark Royal 1985-87, 1994-95, 2001-03)
Association Treasurer - Ken Usher (Ark Royal 1987)
Committee Members - John Hartshorne (Ark Royal 1985-88)
David 'Yorkie' Lythe (Ark Royal 1976-78)
Val O'Keeffe (Ark Royal 1991-95)
Paul Spence (Ark Royal 1985-88)


To view a copy of the HMS Ark Royal Association's Constitution, click here (Adobe Reader required).

Breakdown of Our Current Membership

Updated 29th November 2021

Who served when? The Membership of the HMS Ark Royal Association consists of the following:

    HMS Ark Royal IV (R09)     HMS Ark Royal V (R07) 
 Decade onboard 1950s 1960s 1970s 1980s 1990s 2000s 2010s
 No. of Members 13 33 118 96 64 38 10

HMS Ark Royal Association members are a mixture of all ranks and rates and all of the current Committee are former junior or senior ratings.

We also have the following notable members:

Vice Admiral Sir Alan Massey KCB, CBE
Rear Admiral John Clink CBE
Rear Admiral Mike Harris
Rear Admiral Terry Loughran CB
Rear Admiral David Snelson CB
Rev. Mike Brotherton MBE